What does an intermittently red/green LED mean?

Hi,

I've jus bought three Xi-3 APs for our new house, probably over-doing it because our house isn't big at all. But I wasn't happy with my Unifi's stability and range, so I wanted to solve this first-world problem once and for all.

Anyway, after adding these APs to the Cloud Manager, one of them showed a red LED, turning green after some time, but also reverting to red shortly after, and so on. When the LED is red, it seems I cannot connect to this [articular AP. Being an embedded software developer myself, I think the AP is resetting, yet according to the Cloud manager, everything is fine.

I tried using the supplied PoE adapter instead of my PoE switch, different Ethernet cables, swapping it with the other APs, but the problem remained with the AP. After this whole swapping exercise, I left everything connected, and when I checked yesterday morning, it finally stayed green. When I checked the Cloud Manager, this particular AP had an up-time of 15 hours, while the others had 18 hours, making be believe it has been resetting for 3 hours before coming to its senses.

Should I request an RMA with my supplier? Because I don't trust this AP anymore.

An observation is that this particular AP has a way different serial number and MAC (OUI). Where the other APs have serial numbers like 99155360xxxx and OUI 94:F6:65, the problem AP has a serial number like 14154380xxxx and OUI 2C:C5:D3, which may indicate a different revision.

Looking forward to your opinions.

Tagged:

Comments

• shriramrsshriramrs Member, Xpert, Moderator Posts: 142

Hi @MindBender ,